Rockbridge Area Community Services Board


Member Address Contact Information Term Expires
Steve Funkhouser 258 Greenhouse Road
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540-463-7329  12/31/2020
Heather Hostetter 286 Sorrells Lane
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540- 968-1384 12/31/2019
John Higgins 131 Moores School Lane
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540-460-7079 12/31/2019
S. Jade Knick
173 Moores Creek Road
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540-570-2687 C 12/31/2021

Malcolm Brownlee 130 Walkers Creek Road
Rockbridge Baths, Virginia 24473
540-348-1401 H 12/31/2020
Susan Parochniak 324 Mackeys Lane
Fairfield, Virginia 24435
540-461-1301 C 12/31/2020

Regular Meetings

  • The fourth Wednesday of every month (except July and August) at 3:30 p.m.
  • November and December are combined on the first Wednesday of December
  • Rockbridge Area Community Services Board Office                                                                                                 241 GreenhouseRoad                                                                                                                                          Lexington, VA 24450


John D. Young, Executive Director

About the Board

This Board was established to help prevent and treat mental illness, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse, and to enhance the quality of life of individuals who experience these conditions in the Cities of Buena Vista and Lexington and the Counties of Rockbridge and Bath, Virginia by providing individualized treatments, establishing and expanding programs and support systems, and promoting integration into the community. Members serve a three-year term.


Board composition shall consist of:
  • Six members from Rockbridge County
  • Three members from Bath County
  • Three members from the City of Buena Vista
  • Three members from the City of Lexington
Board membership shall be made up of:
  • One elected official from the administrative body of each locality
  • The chief administrative officer for each locality
  • An elected official or chief administrative officer, if he or she so desires, may appoint a designee to serve in his or her absence
  • Four members appointed at-large by the Rockbridge County Board of Supervisors
  • One at-large member each appointed by the respective Councils and representing the City of Buena Vista and the City of Lexington
  • One at-large member appointed by the Bath County Board of Supervisors
An elected official and chief administrative officer if he or she so desires may appoint a designee to serve in his or her absence.