Department of Social Services Board


Member Address Contact Information Term Expires
Betty Jones 1978 Collierstown Road
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540-463-5026 H 7/31/2020
P. Duaine Fitzgerald 118 Collierstown Road
Lexington, Virginia 24450
540-463-6799 H 4/30/2019

Teresa Fainter P.O. Box 121
Natural Bridge Station, Virginia 24579
540-291-1372 H 3/30/2019


  • Meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday at 3 p.m.
  • Rockbridge County Administrative Office Building
    Board Meeting Room, 1st Floor
    150 South Main Street
    Lexington, Virginia 24450

About the Board

This Board oversees the local office of the Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS). Social Services is a state supervised and locally administered system that administers programs designed to help Virginia's most vulnerable citizens find permanent solutions to life's many challenges and promote the well-being of citizens through the delivery of essential services and benefits such as Medicad. Members serve four-year terms.


  • Appointed by the Board of Supervisors
  • Limit of two consecutive terms and eligible for reappointment after a one year intervene
  • Three members from Rockbridge County